Odd observations.

Well, after a week’s worth of work, I’m still employed, but wondering if I’ll be able to bring enough of my “A game” to really feel like I’m doing all I can. My co-workers are great, but there are times I wonder if I’m helping or just along for the ride. Not too strangely, I hate that latter idea. Guess it’s time to start paying attention and focusing on getting my mind into my new job.

Something odd happened to me today: I met someone I once knew. This is someone who I was in school with from grade school all the way through high school, and I didn’t know who the hell they were. This individual walked up to me in a store and addressed me by name, asking if I remembered them. I was at least honest enough to admit I was drawing a complete blank, and they told me who they were. Even with that, my mind couldn’t match the person standing in front of me with the person I remembered from all those years ago. The time may have dimmed my memories, or perhaps it has changed them, I don’t honestly know. We didn’t speak too long, but this person said something that disturbed me deeply: they said I looked just like I did when we were in school together. Time hasn’t been terrible to me, but to think I look like that child who knew next-to-nothing of the world worries me more than I can say.

A sad news story came my way just a short time ago: during the annual Reno Air Races, a P-51 crashed into the spectators. No details about a possible cause are available, and the initial report only spoke of 75 people injured. Outside of the pilot, there were no reports of fatalities, but given what happened, it is hard to believe that no one on the ground was killed. Reno is the last bastion of a long tradition of air racing, and it draws some of the most extreme piston-powered prop planes in the world. That accidents will happen in such a situation, where pilots are pushing their machines to the absolute limit at an extremely low altitude (around 50′ above ground level), is to be expected. Hopefully, this incident will not spell the end for Reno, and equally hopefully, those who were injured will recover fully.

Leave a Reply

