Further ‘high-speed’ adventures.

Well, the final piece of the puzzle arrived today, I was ready to get the new high-speed connection up and running. That “final piece” was a section of Cat 6 Ethernet cabling to connect the cable modem to the computer through a router. Get the cable, get it threaded around to where the modem will be at, call the cable company (Comcast), and let them know I want their lowest-priced “high-speed” Internet connection. No problem! They get my info, tell me I can get a self-install kit from my local outlet (and with it, I can save the$75 minimum it’d cost to have one of their techs do the work). Great, off to the Comcast outlet!

What was the line, “The best-laid plans of mice and men do oft go astray.”? Yeah, I ran into that. Or, put another way, Murphy came around and decided to keep me company. Either way, nothing seemed to go right.

I got into a fender-bender in the parking lot, and the guy who collided with me took off before the cops could get there to fill us out an accident report for our insurance companies.

Got the modem, got the car patched up enough to get home, got with the insurance agent, even managed to get an estimate.

Then, I got home…….

The installation took a lot longer than I’d thought it would, but it was fairly simple so it was just a case of taking the time to get it done. Then, time to drop the “install wizard” CD into my computer and let it do it’s thing.

Nope, it wasn’t.

Computer won’t automatically start up the install like it should, and when I tell the computer to take a look at the CD to see if it can find the proper program to invoke to start the installation process, it tells me that there’s nothing at all on the CD! I have another computer, which I fire up to see if it can find something. Yes, it says, there are programs on the CD (whew!), but when I fire the installation program up, well, it says it can’t access the modem!!!!!

Comcast, for it’s part, says it can’t do anything from their end, because of a “service issue” in my area, which means they can’t “see” the modem from their end. When will the “issue” be fixed, I ask? Oh, well, they’re not sure, but they’ll give me a call as soon as it’s all taken care of!

So, here I am, with new hardware setting around doing nothing yet again. I am beginning to wonder if Nature has decided I don’t need a high-speed connection to the Internet. I don’t know if that’s the explanation or not, but with this run of bad luck, I’m beginning to suspect Someone’s got it in for me……..

Leave a Reply

