On speaking too soon.

I guess I should have known it would happen. I wrote about my new high-speed Internet connection, tempting the Fates, and they decided it was time to administer a good smacking to me.

The connection was everything I described it to be in my earlier post….up until Sunday morning. When I decided to log on, the connection was, well, slower than the dial-up service was. Worse, it would die part way through bringing a Web page up, and the only way to get things started again was to stop the web page and hit the “Refresh” button. Things were getting frustrating, but I had hopes that everything would clear up, so I took time out to get lunch.

Problem is, once I got done with eating, when I tried the connection again….nothing. No connection at all, not even an occasional connect. When I trundled out the ‘big guns’, which in my case means a copy of the WireShark IP packet monitoring program and firing up the “Command Window” so I could use commands like “ping” and “ipconfig” to look at what was happening with my network connection.

They all agreed: it was dead.

Pings produced nothing but a string of “Host not available” replies, WireShark kept showing a connection to the router, but nothing going beyond that point. Great, the beast has died. I’m not ready to just write it off, though, so I try adjusting the antennas, seeing if somehow they might have moved and that was causing the signal to drop off just enough to make the connection break.

Nope.

Nothing I can do about getting technical help from the provider, it being Sunday and all, so I just unplug the wireless bridge and go back to my old stand-by, the dial-up connection. It’s no faster than it ever was, but having a solid, reliable connection is something to almost be cherished. So, item #1 on the agenda for Monday is contact my wireless provider and find out what the hell is going on.

Fast forward to Monday……….

I get to the office of my provider as early as I can (I’m one of those folks who is a lot harder to ignore in person than over the phone, and it comes in handy from time to time) to see what I can find out. What I find out is that they don’t have a clue why my connection might go from functioning to DOA, but they’ll send their tech guy down (yet again) to take a look at it. Now, all I have to do is wait for him to show up…..on Tuesday.

Tuesday comes around and I’m up early, waiting for the service call (no, they don’t provide any sort of time frame for when their representatives will be there).

And I wait.

And I wait.

And I………….

Noon arrives with no visit. So I call the office, ask when the tech guy is going to arrive (“He hasn’t been there? Well, it should be sometime today….”), and decide to get lunch together. Well, I not only had the time to eat a leisurely lunch, I even got the dishes taken care of and got watching some TV. So what happens? The tech guy shows up, of course! What followed was almost a farce. He took a few looks around, looked at how I had the antennas arranged inside the window, and told me to take them outside the window. My question, as you can guess, was simple: what happens if that doesn’t work? Then, my technology guru tells me, I’m screwed.

He leaves, I go get the ladder, do some climbing and wire fishing, and get the antennas out in the Great Outdoors. So, what was the result of all this effort, what was my reward for my efforts?

The damn thing still won’t connect!!!!!!!!

So, back to the phone, back to talking to the main office, where they assure me they’ll contact Tech Guy to pay me Yet-Another visit. That was Tuesday afternoon, and it is now Wednesday night, and he still hasn’t been back. Some part of me knows that, odds are, all he’ll do when he does come back is tell me that I can’t use the wireless connection. So that will leave me back where I started, with no high-speed connection. Part of me wants to just throw in the towel and say “@!*%$ high-speed connections!!!!”, but the reasoning part of my mind knows I’m going to have to find some sort of connection that’s faster than what I’m using at this moment. What it will be, whether I’ll be able to find another wireless provider, or a DSL line, or giving in and going over to the Dark Side with a cable modem, I don’t know. I do know that all of this has left me with a very sour taste in my mouth as far as high-speed connection providers go, and that’s something I don’t like to experience.

Leave a Reply

